The 14 Stations of The Cross | Bethlehem Handicrafts

The 14 Stations of The Cross | Bethlehem Handicrafts

The Via Crucis is the name given to the Stations of the Cross, also known as the Way of the Cross. It refers to a collection of images and prayers depicting Jesus Christ on the day of his crucifixion. The stations emerged from imitations of Jerusalem's Via Dolorosa, which is the real route Jesus took to Mount Calvary.

A sequence of 14 images is usually organized in numbered order along a route, and the faithful proceed from image to image in order, stopping at each station to say the chosen prayers and reflections. 

In a spirit of reparation for the pain and suffering that Jesus suffered during his passion, this will be performed individually or in a procession most frequently during Lent, particularly on Good Friday.

From the 17th to the 20th century, the traditional sequence consisted of 14 paintings or sculptures portraying the following scenes:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death
  2. Jesus takes up his Cross
  3. Jesus falls for the first time
  4. Jesus meets his Mother
  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the Cross
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
  7. Jesus falls for the second time
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  9. Jesus falls for the third time
  10. Jesus is stripped of his garments (as known as the "Division of Robes")
  11. Jesus is nailed to the Cross
  12. Jesus dies on the Cross
  13. Jesus is taken down from the Cross
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

Bethlehem Handicrafts uniquely carves the fourteen stations of Christ’s passion on Bethlehem’s olive wood. However, this uniquely carved Bethlehem’s olive wood made in the Holy Land contains an additional piece which is the resurrection of Jesus Christ to Heaven. 




It starts with the condemnation of Christ by Pilate all the way through carrying his cross, falling for the first time, Jesus meeting his mother, Simon of Cyrene helping Jesus to carry his cross, Veronica wiping the face of Jesus, Jesus falling for the second time, Jesus meeting the three women of Jerusalem, Jesus falling for the third time, getting stripes and lashes, the clothes of Jesus Christ are being taken away, being nailed to the cross, dying on the cross then the body of Jesus is taken down from the cross, being placed in a tomb and finally resurrecting to heaven.


Our olive wood set is a priceless piece of art to remind you of the passion of Christ and the sacrifice he did just for our sins.

“I have come so that they may have life” John 10:10.

At our workshop, we have many more other wooden hand carved religious statues which are produced to help Christians in the Holy Land and around the world share their faith and glory to God.

Visit our online market to browse more than 800 olive wood items! We ship worldwide!

We, the Bethlehem Handicrafts’ team, are so proud to put the Holy Land in your hand by giving you a variety of the best and the most outstanding original Bethlehem’s olive wood carvings with the best quality made in the Holy Land.

Made by Christian Hands. Loved by Christian Hearts.

Read Now: "He is risen!" | Easter Bible Verses 2021

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.


Blog posts

  • Bethlehem Handicrafts

Virtual Gallery of Current Items

1 comment
Mother Mary: A Woman’s Aspiration
  • Bethlehem Handicrafts

Mother Mary: A Woman’s Aspiration